About Division

For administrative convenience Madhya Pradesh State has been divided in to Ten administrative division.Jabalpur Division is geographically situated in the Central part of the state. It consists of Eight Districts – Jabalpur, Katni, Narsinghpur, Seoni, Chhindwara, Balaghat, Mandla and Dindori. This region in commonly known as Mahakoushal region.

The supervisory institution of the Divisional Commissioner has been created to oversee the functioning of various Government Offices located in the division. In this division the Office of the Divisional Commissioner is situated at Jabalpur. This office came into being around 1818.

In this Division the role of this office is two fold

Divisional Commissioner – as supervisory head of all the Govt. offices situated in the division.

Commissioner, Area Development- Responsible for Maintenance, Regulation of the irrigation system and development of the command area.

As Divisional Commissioner, this office has been given the direct responsibility of supervising the revenue and development administration in the division.